Home » Misc. » Camp NaNoWriMo

Camp NaNoWriMo

Hey guys!

Today I wanted to talk to you about an upcoming event that I will be participating in. I’m sure most of you have heard of NaNoWriMo. I participated this past year and loved it, but they have an April event called Camp NaNoWriMo, which I think is even better.

For those of you who are unaware of NaNoWriMo, they have an official about on their homepage:

National Novel Writing Month is a fun, seat-of-your-pants approach to novel writing. Participants begin writing on November 1. The goal is to write a 50,000-word (approximately 175-page) novel by 11:59:59 PM on November 30.”

It’s a lot of fun, you can have writing buddies, and for people who work better on deadlines, its great.

I think the camp project is better for two main reasons.

1. You get to choose your own word limit.

I think this is awesome! I have such a hectic schedule that having a lower word limit and still having a stats page for it is great for me. And I think most people will agree that if 50,000 is too much for them, this is a great feature. The other part of this that I like is, what if you are an overachiever? Or what if you’ve just got too much time on your hands? Well then up your word count! You can do that too, and still get a stats page.

2. Cabins

In the camp version, you are placed into a cabin according to certain cabin settings you pick. You can be in a cabin with certain people, or with people writing the same genre as you, or the same wordcount, etc. Or you can just throw caution to the wind and get a random group. Either way, you are given a nice little chatroom for you and your cabin, and you guys can keep up with each other as the month progresses.

So those are the reasons why I like the idea of Camp NaNoWriMo more than the normal one. I will be participating this coming April, and I encourage you to as well. The site can be found here, and if you do choose to participate then I say good luck to you!

One thought on “Camp NaNoWriMo

  1. Pingback: The Month of April and CampNaNo | thelissachronicles

Leave a comment